Little Red Raspberries

April 4, 2012 § Leave a comment

Chocolate self-saucing pudding is a favourite in our house apartment, especially over the LONG, drawn out winter that has crept back in to our lives again after a month of glorious, warmer weather. Normally, I can’t eat to much of the rich sweetness that is the “self-saucing” part, without getting a stomach ache, but last night I may just have solved this. I had some raspberries in the freezer just waiting to be used for something so I decided to give them a whirl in this. The fresh, slightly sour, taste of the raspberries counteracted the rich sweetness of the sauce nicely. Unfortunately, I was to excited too try it out before I realised I hadn’t taken a picture, so the one above is from google, but I promise to get one the next time I make it (don’t worry, you won’t be waiting long!). All I did was stir half a cup of raspberries in to my normal recipe and voila! Fancy pants self-saucing pudding.

Side note: Upon looking for pictures like the one above, I found this is not a new idea and I’m just too slow to click on to the amazing-ness that raspberries are. Duh, Amelia!

Chocolate and Raspberry Self-Saucing Pudding

From here but I’ve seen the same recipe in a few different recipe books.

Cake mix

1 cup/150g self-raising flour

2 Tbsp/15g cocoa powder

3/4 cup/180g sugar ( I add less than this most of the time since it is really sweet with the sauce. Closer to 1/2 cup)

pinch salt

1 cup/250mL milk

2 Tbsp/40mL vegetable oil

1 or 2 tsp/5 or 10mL vanilla essence

1/2 cup/75g raspberries

Sauce

3/4 cup/150g brown sugar (Again, I use a little less normally)

1/4 cup/30g cocoa powder

2 cups/500ml hot water

Method

Sift dry ingredients together

Make a well in the centre and add milk, oil and vanilla

Mix until combined

Stir in raspberries

Pour mixture in to an oven proof dish (with higher sides. The liquid will rise)

In a separate bowl, sift cocoa and brown sugar together

Pour in boiled/hot water

Mix until the cocoa and sugar have dissolved and there are no lumps

Pour the liquid over the back of a spoon on to the cake mixture (don’t worry if it looks like too much liquid)

Bake at 180 degrees for 45/50 m

Enjoy and in the words of my mother, “Don’t make yourself sick on that!”.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Little Red Raspberries at A La Amelia.

meta

