6 Carrot Gold

April 29, 2012 § Leave a comment

Friday there was a birthday here in the apartment. Our roommate turned 19 so I decided she needed copious amounts of cake. I suck at making cakes. They don’t rise. They taste bland. They’re dry. Over cooked. Undercooked. You name it, I would have done it wrong in a cake. But Ane (roommate) loves Carrot CAKE. So on to the net I hoped in the hope of finding a Carrot cup CAKE recipe. See, cake is still there, just more foolproof in a cupcake. This is the one I used care of BBC Good Food.

Carrot Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Icing

175g brown sugar

100g wholemeal flour

100g self-raising flour

1 tsp baking soda

2 tsp mixed spice ( I may have used a tad more – I didn’t measure)

zest of one orange

juice of one orange (As suggested by others. Definitely needed it. Would have been too dry without it)

2 eggs

150ml sunflower oil (I used rapeseed oil. Any vegetable oil usually works just not olive as it’s too strong)

200g carrot (About 6 medium-sized carrots)

Icing (I adjusted the recipe since I had less cream cheese)

40g butter, softened

200g cream cheese (I tried using the light stuff and it turned out really runny. I recommend using the normal stuff)

1 tsp vanilla extract/essence/vanilla sugar

enough icing sugar to get a good taste

 

  • Mix the dry ingredient and zest in a bowl.
  • In another bowl, mix the eggs, juice, oil and carrot.
  • Add wet ingredient to the dry and mix until just combined. Don’t over mix.
  • Spoon in to cup cake moulds/cases/forms/whatever you use.
  • Bake for 20-22 min or until they spring back when touched.
  • Use an electric beater to make the icing. Just chuck all the ingredients together. Allow the cupcake to cool before icing. Experience has taught me impatience and baking aren’t such a good combo. Make sure you find yourself something to do for an hour or so so you won’t fidget with the muffins and/or the icing every two minutes.

 

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 6 Carrot Gold at A La Amelia.

meta

