Cold Snap

March 11, 2013 § Leave a comment

And just as we thought we could see the end of the tunnel, this happens;

Image

With the matching temperatures of -5, I’ve been finding it quite hard to find spring inspriation. Team this with frustrating visa issues, and you have one very unmotivated sewist. After two weeks of complete darkness from the visa office in London and missing a much anticipated flight, I am now flying out in 10 days time.

Image

On the positive side of all this, I have had more time with my sewing machine and started finishing a dress I started 6 months ago and got bored of. I also helped my little charge to make an elastic waisted skirt. Apart from the elastic, she cut out and sewed it all herself. Very proud Au Pair right here. She used the fabric that was going to be a yellow sorbetto top, but I promise I have something much cooler to replace it with.

I also got the muslin for my sorbetto fitted. I added a dart in the armhole, made a round shoulder adjustment and cut down the sides of the back to a size 8 and it fits much better. Take a look see;

From this;

Image

To this;

Image

Image

Image

Image

I also got the hand sewing on my houndstooth skirt done. Photos to come.

Til next time!

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cold Snap at A La Amelia.

meta